Unusual Hobbies

If you’ve read the bio on my website, you know I wanted to be a writer from a pretty young age. But like everyone else, I dabbled in the occasional odd hobby–troll doll fashion shows in elementary school, community choir in my late teens, and in my 20s, cartooning.

Cartooning has at least a connection to writing–you have to pen that witty caption. But you should also have at least a rudimentary talent for drawing. Which I had…with an emphasis on the rudimentary. The cartooning class I took through UCLA Extension improved my skills somewhat. And I did win the class contest–one of my cartoons earned me $100 and publication in a business magazine.

But my drawing skills never advanced beyond the so-so. And my caption-writing left much to be desired. I went more for plays on words and sight gags, like in this example:

In case you can’t make them out, those little marks on the steps are eyes, which are staring. Stairs…stares. Get it?

Yeah, I know. If I have to work so hard to explain it, maybe I should have gone back to the drawing board.

Here’s another one along the same lines:

In this concept, there was the advantage of circles being dead easy to draw. The fact that it’s not particularly funny is besides the point.

I’m actually rather proud of this next one:

However, if you never took upper level probability & statistics and therefore never learned about the poisson distribution and you have no idea what the French word “poisson” means in English…you probably won’t get it. Not to mention your eyes have likely crossed and glazed over by now.

Below are a few more from my illustrious collection. You’ll have to work out what they mean on your own. I apologize if that effort gives you a headache, or impacts your future enjoyment of cartoons.

The last one needs a caption. It might have had one once and it jumped off the page out of embarrassment. So if you have any ideas for a really snappy caption, please send it along. I’ll include it in a future post.

I’d also be interested in hearing about your unusual hobbies. Feel free to share in the comments.

About karensandler

Lover of chocolate. A couple felines short of full-fledged Cat Lady. Author of the YA Tankborn Trilogy (TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION), from Tu Books. Founding team member of We Need Diverse Books. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Unusual Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Unusual Hobbies

  1. Alyx Morgan says:

    I too have had many hobbies along the path of life. I’ve made beaded jewelry, taken a stained glass class & made windchimes through it. I still like to make candles & quilts, & one day hope to take classes in glass blowing. Anything that gets my creative juices flowing is A OK with me.

    I did enjoy “Circular Argument”…that one actually made me chuckle. :o)
    Alyx

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.

