Horses & Barn Doors

My mare is an escape artist. She let herself out of her stall today and went walkabout. I arrived for a ride to discover her stall gate wide open and the stall empty.

Who me? Open my gate? I would never...

Luckily, she stayed on the property. Why not? All her buds are there and there’s all that grass to munch.

And she was a good girl when I went to catch her. She’s been known to woo-hoo all over the property evading capture. Since she was likely out for several hours, I guess she was ready to come in from the cold.

Yes, I am beautiful.

Of course, when you look at that face, it’s hard to stay mad. But next time, I’m double-locking that gate.

About karensandler

Lover of chocolate. A couple felines short of full-fledged Cat Lady. Author of the YA Tankborn Trilogy (TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION), from Tu Books. Founding team member of We Need Diverse Books. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Cats Horses and Other Pets and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Horses & Barn Doors

  1. Robin Clark says:

    What’s her name again Karen? Wow, she’s a sneaky Pete isn’t she?

  2. karensandler says:

    Her official name is Marro Galaxia (very fancy, isn’t it?). But her barn name is Belle.

  3. Valerie says:

    Wow! Belle is a beauty, indeed! I had a “Houdini” also. Zacarum (barn name: Oopsie,) not only let herself out, but then proceeded to unlatch all the other gates as well! At the time, I had 4 horses, and all but one decided to explore greener pastures! Tuisha stood on the property line and whinnied with all her might, waking us up at 2:30 in the morning. I was 9 months pregnant, and not very happy about it, especially at 2:30am, so hubby went out with a halter (& carrot,) nabbed the lead mare, and once all were stalled, did as you did… double locked ’em!

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.

