Dance Camp – Sore Feet

It’s only halfway through Tuesday and my feet are already sore! And my back, and my hips. But I’ve learned some fun, fun dances just since Sunday. Great Portuguese, cool vintage, the completely confusing Israeli dance Debka Medabeket (I swear, just give me another 20 times or so and I’ll get it!), and some cool English set dances.

My husband and I have been asked to be the demo dancers for the DVD taping of the English dances. Which means we have to learn the whole week’s worth of English dances by tomorrow. We’ve learned half of them, so the rest shouldn’t be too bad. It’ll be kind of strange knowing we’ll be on the DVD for “eternity,” teaching other dancers the proper way to do Cockle Shells or Chocolate for Breakfast.

At Monday night’s party, I was allowed to take photos of some of the dancers and the band while we did warm up dances (pictures below). After the warmup came Once Over Lightly (OOL) which is review of all of Monday’s dances, with the addition of a few square dance rounds. OOL ended about 11:10pm. I went to bed around midnight, but the after party went on until 2pm.

That's my son on the far left and my daughter-in-law is in red.

 

The band, Miamon Miller & Friends. Great band.

Good friends enjoying a line dance.

 

About karensandler

Lover of chocolate. A couple felines short of full-fledged Cat Lady. Author of the YA Tankborn Trilogy (TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION), from Tu Books. Founding team member of We Need Diverse Books. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Traditions and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.

