RTW – The Best Book I Read in November

I just finished a post on why I love reading e-books and scheduled it for this coming Saturday. I mention this because YA Highway’s Road Trip Wednesday prompt for today is What’s the best book you read in November? and thanks to my Kindle, it was easy as pie to refresh my memory on what I read this past month. I could have also checked Goodreads, but since I’m not great about updating my reads there, it’s not as reliable.

Anyway, my best book for November was The Declaration by Gemma Malley. In The Declaration, Anna and Peter are illegal children living in a hellish children’s home that’s like something from a Dickens novel. A Longevity drug that extends life indefinitely has led to an overcrowded world, and the illegal children are the ones who pay the price. It’s set in a futuristic Britain and its British voice is part of what led me to fall in love with this book and its characters. I very much enjoyed the humor interleaved with the very dire situation Anna and Peter were in. I also found the set-up intriguing and since we’ve recently reached the 7-billionth mark of the population on our planet, The Declaration had some very real-world elements to it.

Of course, this is an “older” book (published 4 years ago), but as a newcomer to young adult, I’m still catching up on the great books. The upside to that is I don’t have to wait for the sequel. The Resistance is already available. And since I have the patience of a flea when it comes to waiting for the next book in a series, I am a happy camper about that.

Has anyone else out there read The Declaration? What was your take?

About karensandler

Lover of chocolate. A couple felines short of full-fledged Cat Lady. Author of the YA Tankborn Trilogy (TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION), from Tu Books. Founding team member of We Need Diverse Books. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to RTW – The Best Book I Read in November

  1. kate scott says:

    I haven’t heard of The Declaration. It sounds interesting, I’ll have to check it out.

  2. This book sounds awesome! Must check it out!

  3. karensandler says:

    I kept seeing The Declaration on people’s recommended lists, so I finally picked it up. There are so many great YAs out there, I don’t know that I’ll ever get to them all, but I’ll keep trying!

  4. Colin Smith says:

    Got to love a British voice… but I’m biased, being a former native of that land.🙂

  5. Jaime says:

    I really enjoyed THE DECLARATION and THE RESISTANCE. I heard that the third one isn’t all that great (it’s sitting on my shelf, but I’m not leaping at the opportunity to read it right now), so I’m a bit disappointed to hear that. I guess I’ll have to get to it eventually and make up my own mind. I’m glad you enjoyed these too because I don’t really hear many people talking about them.

    Good choices🙂

  6. Colin Smith says:

    Oops… hit Post too soon… I should say “a former inhabitant”… “former native” doesn’t really make sense. I am a native Brit because I was born there, and a change of location or even nationality doesn’t change that fact. Sorry!

    • karensandler says:

      Heh. No worries, Colin. BTW, I wanted to respond to your post, but couldn’t find a comment form on your blog. I love Scott Westerfeld, but have been leery of steampunk. Based on your rec, I’m thinking I ought to take a look at LEVIATHAN.

  7. Haven’t heard about these before. Must check it out. Thanks for the rec!

  8. Angelica says:

    Haven’t heard of it either, but you’re right about it being an advantage coming to a series late–no waiting for the sequels!

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.

