RTW – The Best Book Read in February

YA Highway‘s prompt for today’s Road Trip Wednesday is What was the best book you read in February? No ties this month. The answer was easy-peasy.

I read three books in February: Maggie Stiefvater’s The Scorpio Races, M. T. Anderson’s Feed, and Beth Revis’s Across the Universe. I might have finished Stardust in the early days of February (I started it in January) and have started another book that I won’t finish until March, but I think the above three qualify as “books I read in February.” (How do you count the books you’ve read each month?)

Anyway, hands down, no thought required at all, The Scorpio Races was the best book I read in February. I’m sure it will turn out to be in my top five for the year, without even knowing what else I’ll be reading. This book had the perfect combination of marvelous, engaging characters, a wonderful premise, a breathless plot, and an enigmatic, yet fascinating setting. Add the fact that I love horses (that’s my beautiful Belle to the left–doesn’t she look just like Dove?) and this book was a guaranteed hit for me.

One thing about The Scorpio Races, which is true for other great books–it stuck with me for days. I kept reflecting on the book, kept feeling the pull of the story even though I’d finished it. That puts it in an entirely different category than other books I’ve enjoyed but weren’t quite elevated to greatness in my mind.

So, what were your favorites this month?

About karensandler

Lover of chocolate. A couple felines short of full-fledged Cat Lady. Author of the YA Tankborn Trilogy (TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION), from Tu Books. Founding team member of We Need Diverse Books. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to RTW – The Best Book Read in February

  1. I’m looking forward to reading Scorpio Races. And TANKBORN. By the way, do you know about this:

    http://pocreading.blogspot.com/2012/01/2012-poc-reading-challenge.html

  2. Susan says:

    I love it when a book sticks with me like that. And Belle is beautiful.🙂

  3. Alice says:

    There aren’t very many books I read that stay with me when I’m done, but there are a few and those are pretty amazing books. I’ll keep Scorpio races on my list of books to read. In Feb. I read Scorch Trials and Crossed (two excellent books) and I started reading Tankborn! Hopefully I”ll finish it in March. I have several books I agreed to read and review on my blog and I’m not the fastest reader, but I really want to finish Tankborn. I’m also listening to Fallen on audio book and enjoying it.

  4. Yael Itamar says:

    *twitch*

    You thought The Scorpio Races was better than Feed.

    *trying really hard not to get irrationally angry*

    It’s okay. Everyone’s entitled to their opinion.

    *walking away. very slowly.*

  5. I hear a lot of good things about THE SCORPIO RACES, but I haven’t picked it up because I tried to read SHIVER and I gave up half-way through. I worried that Stiefvater’s style is just not for me…

    But as for tracking books, I use Goodreads now and it really helps me keep track of what I’ve read, what I want to read, and it gives me a lot of great ideas for books I hadn’t ever heard of before!

    • karensandler says:

      I do use Goodreads to check out what other people think of a particular book (and to see how people are rating Tankborn). But I use my Kindle library list to keep track of what I’ve read.

  6. Juliemybird says:

    Oh man, The Scorpio Races was hard for me. I loved the majority of it so so so much, but there was an extra step in there somewhere, that Stievfater didn’t take, that would have just made it SHINE. I feel you on the horse love, though.🙂

    • karensandler says:

      I think sometimes a book will hit someone exactly right, and grab hold of them in a way that strikes a chord with them. The Scorpio Races was that way with me, but it wasn’t the same with you. Which is interesting, since it’s the exact same book.

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.

