Tankborn Sequels!

I’ve finally been given my editor’s blessing to announce my good news. There will be two Tankborn sequels: Awakening, which is scheduled for release in Spring 2013 and Revolution, scheduled for Spring 2014.

I’d been working on Awakening these past several months, even before the offer was in hand, because I wanted so much for Kayla and Devak’s stories to continue. Now the pace for writing book 2 has picked up to a fever-pitch as I work toward a, shall we say, challenging deadline.

What’s in store for our heroine and hero in Awakening? Aw, you don’t really want to know that, do you? No spoilery here. But I can say there will be more adventures, some familiar returning characters, some new characters, and more intriguing questions asked about humanity, race, and class.

One fun thing about writing Awakening is that I already have a “story bible” to rely on to use as a basis for my world. Most of the heavy lifting of world-building was done in Tankborn. I get to reap those benefits, using Tankborn as my reference material. At the same time, I’m giving myself the freedom to invent some new things that (hindsight being what it is), I would have mentioned in the course of writing Tankborn if I’d thought of them. It’s very cool to add some layers to Tankborn‘s world. Also quite nifty to know there will be a third book which I can start to set up in Awakening.

So keep an eye out for updates–cover reveals, blurb teasers, Scribd samples. Spring 2013 will be here before you know it.

About karensandler

Lover of chocolate. A couple felines short of full-fledged Cat Lady. Author of the YA Tankborn Trilogy (TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION), from Tu Books. Founding team member of We Need Diverse Books. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Books, Tankborn Origins, The Writing Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tankborn Sequels!

  1. Stina says:

    Yes!!!!!!!
    I’ve been waiting for you to say you’re writing more… ’cause, you know, writing isn’t a career, it’s a mental illness. (I forget who said that. Some genius writer person.)

  2. Nadia says:

    Yay!!! I’ve been waiting for this! So happy, can’t wait!🙂

  3. Crystal says:

    Ooh, I’m really happy now! I can’t wait for this!

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.

