It’s Getting Pretty Out There

Spring in the Sierra Foothills is a gorgeous time. The weather is perfect and wildflowers like California poppies start covering the hillsides along the freeway.

It’s always a great time for my garden, before the 100 degree days of summer hit and the more tender flowers struggle in the heat. The tulips are gone already, but my other bulbs, mainly irises, start showing off. The purple one to the left has always been my favorite with its big, showy blooms.

This year, Cosmos have made a reappearance in our garden. We have a couple of raised beds that we used for years to grow our peppers and tomatoes in. The last few years, I haven’t been able to grow a veggie in those beds to save my life. I decided to use smaller containers for the peppers and tomatoes (you can see one pot in the upper right corner), and let the flowers take over the raised beds.

Gerbera daisies are another favorite. The flowers are such a vivid red. I also love that they’re perennials. This particular plant has probably been with us for a half-dozen years or more. It got moved and separated, struggled for a year or two, but now is doing beautifully.

One more picture, just because it’s pretty cool. Those are a variety of Cosmos. Rather than flat petals like the others, these are sort of trumpet shaped.

They look a little unworldly. I can imagine them on an alien planet, looking harmless and pretty. Then you get too close and that stem extends, the petals wrap around you and shoot out a venom…

Sorry, I guess a writer’s mind never quite shuts off. Do you have pictures of your own spring garden? Or fall, for those of you in the southern hemisphere. Share a link. I’d love to see them.

About karensandler

Lover of chocolate. A couple felines short of full-fledged Cat Lady. Author of the YA Tankborn Trilogy (TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION), from Tu Books. Founding team member of We Need Diverse Books. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Traditions and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Getting Pretty Out There

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.

