RTW – Summer After Graduation

For Road Trip Wednesday this week, YA Highway asks How did you spend/how will you spend the summer after graduation? First of all, my high school graduation was so long ago, I spent it TPing dinosaurs and riding saber-toothed tigers. It was tricky climbing on those big cats without getting bitten, but pre-historic catnip usually did the trick to lure the beasts into submission. We’d also grab fronds off the tree ferns to use as shade since air-conditioning hadn’t yet been invented.

This summer, it’s my son and daughter-in-law who have graduated (PhDs in economics) and part of my summer will be involved in helping them move from the West Coast to the East Coast. We have a regular translocation conga line planned, with my son and husband flying out one day with the two cats, and my daughter-and-law and me flying with my beautiful toddler granddaughter the next. Those two days should be quite the adventure.

I hope you all have a fabulous summer.

About karensandler

Lover of chocolate. A couple felines short of full-fledged Cat Lady. Author of the YA Tankborn Trilogy (TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION), from Tu Books. Founding team member of We Need Diverse Books. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Travel, Unusual Hobbies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to RTW – Summer After Graduation

  1. Kat says:

    Hahah, that introduction was wonderfully fun! I wish my graduation summer had been spent with dinosaurs! Though no air conditioning is a bummer😉

    Good luck with the move and congrats to your son and daughter-in-law on the impressive PhDs!

  2. Katie L says:

    Dealing with my domestic house cats is bad enough. Those saber-tooth tigers must have been rough!
    Hope the transition to the east coast goes well! I’m out here (I call it the better coast ;)) and it’s hotter than Hades right now.

  3. Lora says:

    Sounds like an adventurous post-graduation for you! Not sure I’d have the nerve to TP dinosaurs or ride saber tooth tigers🙂. Congrats to the two new grads in your family, and best of luck helping them with their move. By the way, I love your blog and have awarded you the 7 X 7 Link Award. Details are on my blog here:

    http://lorarpfictionblog.blogspot.com/2012/06/huge-thanks-to-michael-abayomi-this.html

  4. Crystal says:

    Haha, TPing dinosaurs is pretty ballsy of you!

    Congrats to your two new graduates🙂

  5. Angelica says:

    Have fun and don’t melt! And watch out for dinosaurs out for revenge for that TP

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.

