RTW – Doing the Groundhog Thing

This week on YA Highway, the prompt asks, If you could be reincarnated as any fictional character, which would it be? Which made the Bill Murray movie Groundhog Day, pop into my mind, hence the title of my post.

Moving on, I gave the question my usual three seconds of thought, figuring that the quickest answer to come into my mind would be the best. I did briefly consider Katniss (but for only the first second of those three), then realized everyone in the world wants to be Katniss (admit it). So I spent the next two seconds digging a little further back and came up with a character I’ve loved for years.

I’d want to be Lessa from Dragonflight by Anne McCaffrey. If you haven’t read Anne McCaffrey’s dragon books, I suggest you check them out. Yes, some are better than others (the first three, Dragonflight, Dragonquest, and The White Dragon are very worthy, as well as the more YA companion series, Dragonsong, Dragonsinger, and Dragondrums). But McCaffrey created such a great world and society that I’ve often fantasized about living on Pern with its genetically augmented dragons.

Lessa is a pretty kick-ass character who doesn’t let anyone push her around. She doesn’t actually run around in that cheesy white outfit shown on the cover, by the way. When she’s riding her golden dragon, she wears practical riders’ leathers. But she’s a feminist’s feminist, insisting that yes, female breeding dragons can fly and they can carry a rider. They can even help fight Thread, the menace on Pern.

So there you go. I want to be Lessa and fly around on a golden dragon. That would be my fantasy come true.

About karensandler

Lover of chocolate. A couple felines short of full-fledged Cat Lady. Author of the YA Tankborn Trilogy (TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION), from Tu Books. Founding team member of We Need Diverse Books. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Books, Cool Science and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to RTW – Doing the Groundhog Thing

  1. Donelle Lacy says:

    Wow, I haven’t thought of those books in a long time! Riding on a dragon would be amazing – if I wasn’t so scared of heights. I vaguely remember Lessa since I never actually finished reading any of the dragonrider books. I did finish The Ship Who Sang which I loved. It’s great to see some old-school picks!

    • karensandler says:

      It’s funny you didn’t finish the book. I read the two trilogies I mentioned so many times, I wore them out. But others have really dissed her writing. Ah, well. To each his own.

  2. I’ve never read these books but heard a lot about it! Thanks for sharing, Karen!

  3. Kat says:

    Uuuh, I would love to be able to ride a dragon! & give me a feminist heroine anytime😉

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.

