RTW – Best Book in July

YA Highway‘s Road Trip Wednesday asks today, What was the best book you read in July? I’ve been on a bit of a Lois McMaster Bujold kick for nearly the entire month (which means I’ve read 1 1/3 of her long, Vorkosigan science fiction sagas). I do recommend Ms. Bujold, both for her fantasy and science fiction. She writes a great story and wonderful characters.

So, since I’ve been Bujolding up a storm, the only YA book I’ve read in July is the marvelous Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs (isn’t that a great author name?). There is a Groundhog Day-like premise (the movie, not the annual tradition), but it’s done in such a fresh and, well, peculiar way, it makes for a riveting read. Its mix of present day world and British WW2 setting also contributes to this fantastic story.

As I mentioned in my Goodreads review, my only real complaint about the book is that darn it, there’s no sequel available. It ends with more loose ends than an unraveling afghan. Only the main story line is tied up. The book is just begging for a follow up. Anyone out there know of plans for a Peculiar book two? I’d love to hear about it.

About karensandler

Lover of chocolate. A couple felines short of full-fledged Cat Lady. Author of the YA Tankborn Trilogy (TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION), from Tu Books. Founding team member of We Need Diverse Books. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to RTW – Best Book in July

  1. pretty sure ransom riggs is working on a sequel…and a graphic novel…and there may be a movie, too!

  2. Jaime Morrow says:

    This book was definitely interesting and totally different from everything else I’ve ever read. I’m not even sure when the sequel comes out, but I hope it’s soon before I forget everything that happened in MISS PEREGRINE.

  3. stephscottil says:

    I also heard this was the first in a series; which for me, I was slightly miffed about — not because I didn’t enjoy the story, but it seems like everything YA is a trilogy these days! I really liked it as a stand-alone, but I wouldn’t mind reading more.

  4. I totally have MISS PEREGRINE, and I started it once and stopped, but I keep hearing such great things about it. I need to pick it back up again.

  5. I have this on my Kobo but I haven’t gotten to it yet! Arg! Being crushed by my TBR pile!

  6. MsFairyFreak says:

    I read the synopsis on amazon. It’s sound interesting. I’ll be sure to check it out.

  7. Alison Miller says:

    Yes, I’m pretty sure Ransom Riggs is working on a sequel. I enjoyed this one a lot. And my teenager liked it too. Great choice!

  8. I’ll have to give that another chance; I’d heard from someone that it was rather disjointed, and the pictures were the best part.

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.

