RTW – My L-O-V-E List

When I saw this blog topic on YA Highway‘s Road Trip Wednesday, the old TV show The Love Boat immediately came to mind. In fact, if you remember that show, you have to read the title of this post the same way the announcer did on the show.

But I digress. The idea for the love list in this context comes from this blog post. In Stephanie Perkins’s post, she describes how she starts a new project by writing a list of all the reasons she loves her story. As she goes, Stephanie adds details to her list. YA Highway invites us to do the same about our own story.

In my case, I am in the throes of a re-write of Awakening, book 2 of the Tankborn series. Maybe I should spell it throws because there have been moments I’ve been tempted to throw the computer across the room. My occasional fits of writer pique aside, the re-write is actually going smashingly well (which has nothing to do with me wanting to smash my computer) and there are plenty of things I like about the story.

So, my love list:

great characters
very cool world
wonderful creatures
fun revisit
exciting plot twists
deeper look
secrets and revelations
set up for book 3

These are off the top of my head and maybe aren’t as specific as they’re supposed to be. I guess I want to keep some stuff close to the vest since the book doesn’t come out until spring 2013. But there have been many cool surprises with this book, with characters doing things I never expected they would. So I am actually having a lot of fun with it.

So, who do you love? Let’s hear about your own love list.

About karensandler

Lover of chocolate. A couple felines short of full-fledged Cat Lady. Author of the YA Tankborn Trilogy (TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION), from Tu Books. Founding team member of We Need Diverse Books. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Books, Tankborn Origins, The Writing Life, Writing Craft and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to RTW – My L-O-V-E List

  1. Rachael says:

    Oo secrets and revelations. I’m glad the re-write is going well (minus the hiccups of wanting to throw it across the room)! I think we all have those moments whether it’s a first draft or a rewrite, sequel, standalone, or first book.🙂

  2. Woohoo for exciting plot twists🙂

  3. Sounds… exciting and new! Sorry, couldn’t resist. I had such a crush on Gopher when I was a kid. Fun list!

  4. Three cheers for plot twists! I love when I don’t see something coming.

  5. Colin says:

    Eek–a re-write! And a re-write with a deadline too!! I hope that’s going well for you, Karen.🙂

  6. I’m in the ‘throws’ of editing/rewriting too. It’s nice to be able to take a step back and appreciate the things that work in your WiP. Sounds like an intriguing story!

  7. Rebekah says:

    Rewrites blow. They are necessary. But that does not change their status.

  8. Stephanie Allen says:

    Rewrites can be worse than writing the thing the first time, but they’re so worth it in the end. Good luck with yours!

  9. Adrianne says:

    Cheers for not smashing your computer! Secrets and revelations sounds intriguing.🙂

  10. Love plot twists and set-ups for books to come!
    And I feel your pain on rewrites, boy do I ever! Mine took almost one year to complete – and I can’t tell you how many times I almost threw my lap top out from the second floor of my house! Keep your chin up and best of luck – the feeling when it’s over is SO worth it!

    • karensandler says:

      Thanks, Erin, Adrianne, Stephanie, and Rebekah for your words of encouragement. Re-writes are a necessary evil. When you think about it, you likely spend more time re-writing than writing the original book. So I’ll keep plowing through.

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.

