RTW – Writing and the Change of the Seasons

This week, YA Highway‘s Road Trip Wednesday asks, How does your writing (place, time, inspiration) change with the seasons?

It’s a great question but I’m afraid I don’t have a particularly great answer. As a writer, my routine is kind of boring, and, well, routine. I don’t change anything with the seasons.

I just sit at the same computer, in the same office, and whether I’m under contract and working on a deadline, or writing some spec piece, I just…write. I work nearly every day. There are times I take a break (like between contracts) when I go a few days or even a week or so without writing. But then a new contract starts or I settle in on a new spec project and I’m back to the routine.

Ye Olde Grindstone

I confess, I’m not exactly sure what I would do differently. I don’t find any particular season any more inspiring than another. If I’m on deadline, I just work. I do dislike deadlines that around Christmas (like if something is due in January), because I just want to kick back and bake cookies and decorate my tree and enjoy the season. But it’s not like I suddenly get ideas for holiday stories.

Am I boring or what? At least my son, who’s got a YA circulating out there and is currently working on a MG book, goes out on the back deck to write on lovely summer days. I just stay in my cubicle, taking root and growing mushrooms between my toes.

I really want to hear from other people on this. Do you have a seasonal ebb and flow with your creativity? Do you write differently at different times of the year? Drop me a line. I’d appreciate a break from my grindstone.

About karensandler

Lover of chocolate. A couple felines short of full-fledged Cat Lady. Author of the YA Tankborn Trilogy (TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION), from Tu Books. Founding team member of We Need Diverse Books. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Books, The Writing Life, Writing Craft and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to RTW – Writing and the Change of the Seasons

  1. anonymous says:

    I don’t think I write differently at different times of the year either, though summer gets busy and my schedule gets interrupted more as well as around the holidays but I try to stick to my writing schedule all year and November I try to do NanoWriMo and write more than usual.

  2. I don’t do anything different too. Same old, same old. Just butt in the chair, hands on keyboard lol

  3. Colin says:

    You are not alone, Karen! I, too, do the same thing pretty much all year. My writing and writing habits aren’t generally affected by the seasons.

  4. Samantha says:

    Ohh gosh i feel like I must be in the minority here! My writing and daily writing habits are completely affected by the seasons/weather!

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.

