Hurricane Virgin Update #Sandy

I think I might still be a hurricane virgin. If there’s an opposite end of “got the worst of it,” that would be us here in NW DC. The wind shook the house a bit, the rain was getting close to horizontal, but other than a couple puddles in the basement (the walk-out door blew open), we were high and dry. I called my cousin in Brooklyn and all is well there (although her sister in Staten Island has no power). I’m worried about my Manhattan friends. I hope they all check in over the next couple days.

Here’s some video of what it was like here. As you can see, kind of boring. I guess that’s the best way to go through a hurricane.

It got a little worse after nightfall, but not much. Glad to be spared, and sending good thoughts to those who went through storm surge, flooding, and power outages.

About karensandler

Lover of chocolate. A couple felines short of full-fledged Cat Lady. Author of the YA Tankborn Trilogy (TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION), from Tu Books. Founding team member of We Need Diverse Books. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hurricane Virgin Update #Sandy

  1. anonymous says:

    I’m glad it wasn’t too bad for you.

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.

