Best Book in December

I completely forgot about YA Highway’s Road Trip Wednesday this morning. Today’s topic was What was the best book you read in December? Since it’s so late, I was tempted to just give RTW a pass this week, but I just finished a phenomenal book and I’ve been itching to give it a mention.

Before I get to the title, there were some things I was pondering about highly recommended books. Such as, I sometimes pick up a book that lots of people rave about and for me it turns out to be kind of ho-hum. I don’t much like the characters or the plot drags for me. Other times I read a book (The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater comes to mind) that I just swoon over, but other people didn’t much get into it.

Then there are those books that I know will be a bit of an emotional roller coaster so I’m hesitant to buy them. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green is a good example of that. But I did put on my Big Girl Panties and read TFIOS and despite the gushing tears that blurred the words sometimes, I loved-loved-loved it.

WonderMy fave book for December falls into this latter category. I’ve seen many recommendations for R.J. Palacio’s Wonder, but it seemed like it would be an emotionally hard book to read. But I went ahead and bought it a few days after Christmas, and wow! It was fabulous.

The characters were fantastic (especially Auggie, the main character) and the uplifting plot was just a joy to read. It was one of those impossible to put down books that I kept thinking about even when I wasn’t reading it. Truly, the ideal holiday read. I can’t recommend it enough.

So, what have you been reading during the holidays?

About karensandler

Lover of chocolate. A couple felines short of full-fledged Cat Lady. Author of the YA Tankborn Trilogy (TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION), from Tu Books. Founding team member of We Need Diverse Books. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Best Book in December

  1. Alice says:

    I read the dark divine. It was pretty good as far as paranormal romances go.

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.

