New Website! A Solution for the Genre-Conflicted

Home Page Screen ShotSo what do you do to promote yourself when your published work spans three genres (romance, speculative fiction, mystery) and two markets (adult and young adult)? This wasn’t a huge issue when I initially sold my first YA science fiction book, Tankborn, to Lee and Low/Tu Books after publishing adult romances for a dozen years. At that point, I had changed my focus from romance to young adult, and didn’t feel obligated to heavily promo my ten Harlequin books.

But in addition to those Harlequin books, I had the rights back to seven romances and a middle-grade time travel. I finally decided to dip my toe into indie publishing and put the romances and MG book up on Amazon. At that point, I chose to use a pen name for my romances to keep them separate from my children’s books. It was slow going, but I finally had the middle grade book published under Karen Sandler and six of the seven romances up under the pen name Kayla Russo. The seventh book needed some re-write, so it hasn’t yet been published (although it will be soon).

Full CoverBut then something somewhat unexpected happened. I had an unsold mystery novel, Clean Burn, tucked away in my figurative drawer. I found out about a new mystery imprint (Exhibit A, a part of Angry Robot Books) and alerted my agents. Long story short, Clean Burn sold to Exhibit A and will be released August 27, 2013. A second Janelle Watkins mystery will greet the world in Summer 2014.

My predicament clarified in October 2012 during a Novelists, Inc. conference. I had my Karen Sandler Harlequin author identity,my Kayla Russo indie-pubbed romance author identity, I had my Karen Sandler YA author identity, and I was about to have my Karen Sandler mystery author identity. Keeping all those identities juggled, trying to appropriately promote all of them, was madness.

My first step toward simplification was to drop my Kayla Russo identity. My original rationale for creating the pen name had been to separate my sexy adult romances from my teen-safe YA books. But that was silly because there were still those ten sexy Harlequin books for sale with Karen Sandler squarely on their covers. So I killed Kayla Russo off (so to speak) like the next murder victim in a Janelle Watkins mystery novel.

With the same name on all my books, I decided that the variety of genres/markets I offered were a feature, not a bug. Instead of keeping the genres separate, I would promote them side-by-side. Instead of seeing my multi-genre approach as a problem, I used it to brand myself. I am now proudly Genre-Conflicted on my blog, two Twitter identities, and Facebook.

KSA FacebookIn fact Facebook is where I started this process, with a Karen Sandler Author page. The banner for the page prominently displays book covers from each of the three genres, romance, science fiction, and mystery. Book tabs take the reader to pages where they can purchase any and all of my books at the click of a button.

My webmaster (i.e., husband) and I took the same approach with my website. The landing page features the same three choices–explore my YA SF books, my romances, or my mysteries. The same buy links are available on the book pages for each genre.

There are still a few tweaks needed on the website, but I really like the solution. It’s still a challenge to promote to three different audiences, but having that one-stop-shop takes some of the load off. So for both the focused genre reader and the more omnivorous book lovers who enjoy a variety of story types, I like to think my work offers something for nearly every taste.

About karensandler

Lover of chocolate. A couple felines short of full-fledged Cat Lady. Author of the YA Tankborn Trilogy (TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION), from Tu Books. Founding team member of We Need Diverse Books. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Books, The Writing Life, Writing Craft and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Website! A Solution for the Genre-Conflicted

  1. J.C says:

    Firstly, congrats on selling your mystery! And secondly, I’m really pleased to see someone who is embracing their love of different genres. I have always thought it seemed like far too much work to try and have different identities for books in different genres, and while I’m not published yet, I know I will be at some point and I am pretty sure I’ll be doing the same as you🙂

    • karensandler says:

      Thanks, J.C. It’s been a challenge. Most editors/agents say to stick to one genre, but it just hasn’t worked out like that for me. I guess I’m a rebel.🙂

  2. The notion of sticking to a genre maybe does wonders for neat shelves but it acts like a collar and lead around the necks of writers! I write humour but it’s sometimes hard sci-fi, sometimes nonsense, sometimes with elements of steam/whatever-punk – and I keep falling into the cracks between genres. There’s nothing more frustrating than being presented with a drop-down list of options and finding that you fit into none of them!

    • karensandler says:

      One thing that’s nice about indie publishing is you can find your own niche. It’s a little more challenging to market a multi-genre book, but it can be done.

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.

