Taxes, Books Read, & Diversity

3 CoversI’m having a grand old time getting my taxes organized…perhaps not. But in the course of said organization, I made a tally of books read in 2014. The bulk of what I’ve read were ebooks purchased from our Beloved Overlord, er, Amazon, and since they send an email for each book purchased, it’s easy to count them up.

Print books I purchased at either my local Barnes & Noble (the only big-box bookstore still in my area), my local IBS* (we have a few very nice ones) and my local UBS* (again, a couple great ones) are harder to track. I’d have to (a) remember that I read it or (b) stumble across it on one of my myriad bookcases. Much trickier. Also, there are a not insignificant number of picture books I bought for my granddaughter. I include a couple below, but can’t recall all of them.

So I won’t claim this is a complete list of the books I read. I have eliminated those I bought and started, but did not like well enough to finish. First the Amazon list:

12 Years a Slave
Sand Omnibus
The Rosie Project
Odyssey
Hercule Poirot & the Greenshore Folly
Pines
Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret
Geeks, Girls, and Secret Identities
Typhoid Mary
The First Phone Call from Heaven
A Monster Calls
Prophecy
Fake ID
Blue Boy
The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf
Openly Straight
The Living
Boy Meets Boy
The School for Good & Evil
The Great Greene Heist
The Summer Prince
Magic Under Glass
The Miseducation of Cameron Post
The Chaos
The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Things
The Only Thing to Fear
Charm & Strange
Underneath
Hollow City
Ship of Souls
Cryoburn

And the print books purchased from brick and mortar stores or other venues:

Fat Angie
Ball Don’t Lie
Yacqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass
The Beast
Brown Girl Dreaming
Each Kindness
The Other Side
Dragonwings
The Star Fisher
Prodigy
Shadow Hero (addition)
El Deafo (addition)

I’m pleased to note that of the 41 43 I could account for, 31 33 were books either by diverse authors and/or featured diverse main characters. Apologies for not including author names–I have a new resolution to make my blog posts quicker and simpler. If you can’t figure out the author, ask me in the comments.

So for those who might be thinking diverse books are hard to find, do the math here. A full 75% of my reading material this year (possibly more since there might be a few I haven’t accounted for) is diverse. And there are many more I’m eagerly looking forward to reading, both new, and classics.

Happy reading to all in 2015.

*IBS – Independent Book Store, such as my local fave, Face in a Book.

*USB – Used Book Store, such as my local faves, The Almost Perfect Bookstore and The Bookery.

About karensandler

Lover of chocolate. A couple felines short of full-fledged Cat Lady. Author of the YA Tankborn Trilogy (TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION), from Tu Books. Founding team member of We Need Diverse Books. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Books, Diverse Books, Strongly Held Beliefs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.

