Brilliant, Brilliant I Tell You

This has been a creative morning. As I struggled to drag myself into wakefulness, hitting the snooze button for the second time, an absolutely brilliant, foolproof idea burst full flower in my mind. I’m sure I can trust all of you not to steal it for yourselves and make gazillions of dollars from this lucrative concept before I can.

So here it is: when you hit the snooze button on a clock (any clock–old school clock-radios, fancy watches, smartphones), you not only get 10 extra minutes of sleep, but time moves backward that same amount. In other words, you don’t lose time by sleeping in. In fact, “sleeping in” will no longer be a thing. We’ll call it “time restoration” or “time recycling” or some such. You’ll never be late for work again.

Now that I’ve come up with the idea, I’m sure physicists, mechanical engineers, and Time Lords alike will want in. They’ll pay me generous royalties once they figure out the trivial details of how to make this work. The big bucks will start rolling in.

I’m thinking there might be other applications for this idea. How about a reset of unpleasant experiences? Download the app “Time Restoration” onto your phone and select from a list of options like Bad Blind Date or Disastrous Election Result. You’ll never have to say “Well, there’s four years I’ll never get back” again.

About karensandler

Lover of chocolate. A couple felines short of full-fledged Cat Lady. Author of the YA Tankborn Trilogy (TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION), from Tu Books. Founding team member of We Need Diverse Books. Opinions expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.

