RTW – Favorite Book in March

ImageThis week, YA Highway asks, What was the best book you read in March? I’ll make this quick and easy–it was Jasper Fforde’s One of Our Thursdays is Missing . If you haven’t read any of Fforde’s wacky literary-based fantasies (the Thursday Next series), you’re missing out on a real treat.

In Fforde’s Thursday Next series, we have an alternate history in which such things as literary detectives work in Jurisfiction and the BookWorld actually exists. There are wonderful explanations for how books work when a reader is experiencing them (actual BookWorld people act out the characters’ roles). Along with the mind-bending aspect, there is always a very satisfying mystery solved in each book.

I highly recommend you pick up book one in the series, The Eyre Affair, a marvelous send-up of Jane Eyre. After reading the first one, you won’t be able to resist the rest.

About Karen Sandler

Author of young adult science fiction (Tankborn, Awakening, and Rebellion) and indie published romance and mystery. WGA writer working on a TV adaptation of the Tankborn Trilogy. All opinions expressed on my blog are my own.
This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to RTW – Favorite Book in March

  1. Colin says:

    I really enjoyed THE EYRE AFFAIR but haven’t got around to the rest of the series yet (too many books, too little time). Is this the next in the series? If so, consider it on my TBR list. 🙂

  2. I’ve never read one of his books, but they sound great. I love the idea of the Book World. Definitely adding this to my list.

  3. Carissa says:

    I’d never heard about this author until recently but totally want to check him out after reading this post! Thanks for the recommendation!

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.