New Book Sale (the cat is out of the bag)

About a month ago, I wrote a blog post in response to a YA Highway Road Trip Wednesday prompt that asked, What do you hope to be writing in one year? Three? Five? In that post I was very cagey about a new project that I couldn’t yet discuss. Since a notice has gone out today in the UK’s magazine The Bookseller, and also in PublishersMarketplace, I feel free to announce it here.

Angry Robot’s new mystery imprint, Exhibit A, has acquired World English Rights to my mystery novel, Clean Burn, as well as to a second book in the series. Janelle Watkins, the heroine of Clean Burn, is a hard-edged abuse survivor who gets caught up in an arson investigation in her hometown while reluctantly searching there for two missing kids. She ends up facing the childhood demons she thought she’d left behind and has to confront again the former lover whose marriage she helped destroy.

I’m very excited about the sale. Exhibit A will be releasing Clean Burn simultaneously in the UK and US in September 2013 (via Random House in the US). Since Lee and Low/Tu Books will be releasing Awakening, the second book of the Tankborn trilogy in Spring 2013 (hopefully late March 2013), that means I’ll have two books out next year. Woohoo!

About Karen Sandler

Author of young adult science fiction (Tankborn, Awakening, and Rebellion) and indie published romance and mystery. WGA writer working on a TV adaptation of the Tankborn Trilogy. All opinions expressed on my blog are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New Book Sale (the cat is out of the bag)

  1. J.C says:

    That’s so exciting!! Well done, Karen đŸ™‚ I look forward to checking it out when it’s released!

  2. We’re delighted to have you as one of our authors. We’re all very excited here about CLEAN BURN and all things Janelle.

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.