Why Writing Multi-Culturally is So Much Fun

Today, my guest blog post went up over at Ellen Oh’s blog, Hello Ello. She’s doing a series on What Diversity Means to Me. As I was brainstorming about what I wanted to write in answer to Ellen’s questions, I was inspired to compose a list of reasons why I enjoy writing a multi-cultural cast in my books. I had originally intended to use this list somehow in the blog post for Ellen, but instead I went another direction (as you’ll read if you pop on over there).

But I thought it might be fun to post the list here on my own blog. Why I enjoy writing multi-culturally:

  • I get to use so many cool names for my characters
  • I get to write about so many different versions of beautiful
  • I learn some fascinating stuff about other cultures
  • I sometimes stumble across a fabulously delicious recipe to try
  • It gives me many new places to dream about traveling to
  • I get to give a wide range of kids a chance to see themselves within my book and on its cover
  • I get to learn about new languages
  • I get to meet some very awesome cultural experts

Certainly not all-encompassing. So how about some more reasons? Let me know in the comments.

About Karen Sandler

Author of young adult science fiction (Tankborn, Awakening, and Rebellion) and indie published romance and mystery. WGA writer working on a TV adaptation of the Tankborn Trilogy. All opinions expressed on my blog are my own.
This entry was posted in Books, Strongly Held Beliefs, The Writing Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Writing Multi-Culturally is So Much Fun

  1. alicebeesley says:

    Great reasons to write multiculturally. I love a lot of those things about it too.

  2. I love your list of reasons to write multiculturally. But my favorite one isn’t on the list so I thought that I would add it. It gives books more authenticity. Multicultural books are so much more real to me that most of the time I’d rather read them than anything else. Thanks for the great list Karen! Oh and I’m enjoying Tankborn so far. 😀

I do appreciate your comments on what I've written. However, I will no longer approve anonymous comments. Thank you.